Mountaintop Lunch Break.

Before Mitch and I moved into our current house, we lived right at the base of Kennesaw Mountain. I loved driving past it to and from work, and during the fall, we took the dogs to hike nearly every weekend. We are a little farther away from it now, so I try to take any chance I can to journey to the top. Most days I eat lunch at work, which is just three miles away from the mountain, but today was so gorgeous that I thought it might be a nice change of pace to go pick up something to-go and have a little picnic in my car at the top of the mountain.

kennesaw

I had a serious hankering for Canvas, one of my favorite places to get lunch in the Marietta area. Their food always tastes fresh, and their sandwich selections range beyond your standard meat-and-cheese options.. Bonus: it’s owned by an alum of the school where I work!

canvas

The award for best actor in my lunchtime movie goes to the marchella sammie (grilled chicken breast with balsamic onions, goat cheese, sun-dried tomato chutney, and basil pesto mayo on rosemary foccacia) and a beet, apple, and cheese salad also received accolades for its equally impressive supporting role. So good, y’all. I ate with the sunroof open and The Gaslight Anthem in the background, and about halfway through, I noticed I had piqued the interest of a certain someone in the truck next to me.

dogincar

Wish I could have shared, little guy! Between the awesome food and the amazing weather, I felt pretty confident that I made good on yesterday’s promise to live fully.

Speaking of living fully through delicious food, today is National Peanut Butter Day! Like most people who eat and breathe on a regular basis, PB is a staple in our house; we go through a jar each week. I put it in my oatmeal each morning, Mitch likes it in his protein smoothies, and when we are out of treats in the house, I like to make these super quick & easy 3-ingredient peanut butter cookies. What’s your favorite way to eat peanut butter? For the record, sticking a spoon in the jar definitely counts.

Leave a Reply

