Keep On Rollin’ Baby.

Last night Mitch and I had some folks over to hang out, eat unhealthy food, and watch the Super Bowl. Our friend Josh is also training for the Georgia Half Marathon (his first!) and we were talking about his long run earlier that day when he mentioned he was feeling some residual tightness. Being the gracious hostess that I am, I promptly ran into our back room and emerged with this bad boy.

IMG_1188

There ain’t anything quite like busting out a 36″ x 6″ cylinder of foam to really get the party started. I guess that’s just how I roll.

Really bad jokes aside, I have a serious love affair with my foam roller. Prior to January’s yoga detox workshop, I had never foam rolled and, quite honestly, always kind of giggled at the thought of squirming around on the floor with one. However, after my experience at the yoga studio, I was hooked.

I’ve seen them at TJ Maxx & Marshall’s, but I ordered my own off eBay for $20 about two weeks ago and have been rolling every night since; I guess you could say we are still in the honeymoon stage.  Each night before I go to sleep I spend about 20 minutes rolling out my quads, my calves, glutes, hamstrings, IT band, and upper back while whispering sweet, sweet nothings to that miracle-causing cylinder. There are tons of videos on YouTube that will lead you through different exercises, but you know I love a good infographic; I found the one below on Pinterest. I set a timer on my phone so that I don’t skimp on any particular muscle group and then I roll out, Chris Bridges style.

With my left knee hurting like it has been, I’ve been paying special attention to my IT bands during the past few rolling sessions. I’m not going to lie: it freaking hurts, but this morning when I woke up, I shuffled around in a post-Super Bowl haze for a good five minutes before suddenly realizing that my knee felt the best it had in days. I’m giving most of the credit to the foam roller, but also I think my knee might have seen the half-time show and decided it really needed to step its game up. GLORY BE TO QUEEN BEYONCE.

One thought on “Keep On Rollin’ Baby.

  1. Pingback: Chondromalaciwha? | Rhymes with Dots

Leave a Reply

