All Aboard, Frustration Station.

Busting out some vinyl while I make breakfast on Sunday morning might be one of my favorite little weekend traditions. I salvaged this dusty old record player from a church sale on eBay for $20 many years ago. It’s been through a bunch of moves, and I hold it near and dear to my heart even if the sound is not so great. This morning’s record-of-choice was Easy Tiger.

IMG_1347

This afternoon Mom and  I went to Red Top Mountain to try a new trail run. We had 8 miles on our training schedule, so we planned on doing the 5.5-mile Homestead Trail followed by the 3.5-mile Sweet Gum Trail. Emphasis on planned. 

IMG_1346

At about 3 miles in, my knee started talking to me. By the time we had come to the end of the trail, it was shot, as was my mom’s left hip. So much for 8 miles for these wusses. We both called it a day after the  5.5 mile loop. Discouraging, to say the least. On the plus side, the trail is really well marked, the rolling hills kept it interesting, and the views of Lake Allatoona were lovely, even on a drizzly February day.

IMG_1345

So, it would seem it is back to square one. I don’t want to pull the train into Frustration Station quite yet, but it’s certainly getting close, especially since, before getting injured, I was seeing major improvements in my pace. I’m supposed to be pretty deep in training at this point, and I’m starting to face the reality that I might not make my time goal for the Georgia half next month. I’m also trying to decide how long I should wait before getting it checked out. I hate going to the doctor. Wamp wamp.

But, whatever. I’m over it tonight. Hey, look, here’s an article about my rockstar brother, Senior Airman Leonard!

Leave a Reply

