Treadmill Test 1, 2.

Mitch and I have been talking about rejoining a gym for the past few weeks. We used to be members of an LA Fitness half a mile from our apartment, and when I was prepping for our wedding (and when I was a morning person), I would religiously go to their Tue/Thur 5:45 spin classes. However, when we moved into our house last May, we also moved away from any super close and decent gyms. I took up running outdoors and Mitch took up soccer, so we shrugged and decided maybe we were okay without a gym.

For the most part, we were fine being gym-less. However, lately lots and lots of rain has started to hinder my half-marathon training. The past few weeks I haven’t been able to adhere to my schedule as closely as I’d like, and after reading an article that claimed runners can start to lose physical fitness in as little as two weeks, I was not about to lose another valuable week.

After Mitch and I both got home from work, we headed to the LA Fitness off Akers Mill to use a 14-day guest pass I printed out online. After a quick sit-down with Elena (super nice!), we were ready to go. I had to wait a few minutes for a treadmill to open, but it was gym rush-hour so I ain’t mad.

True story: prior to tonight, I had never really run on a treadmill. They always made me nervous and self-conscious; I am not a quiet runner. However, after a quick warm up, I quickly hit my stride, alternating 12:00, 11:30, and 10:00 minute miles to take it easy on my still-aching knee while keeping things interesting. Plus I had some pretty sweet scenery: the ongoing spin class and the back of my husband’s head.

IMG_1434

An hour later, I had gotten in my 5 miles for the day.  For my first treadmill run, it wasn’t bad! I love the scenery of my trail & road runs, so I had to make a conscious effort to not just stare at the blinking track; instead, I tried to keep time with the pace of the people next to me to keep things interesting. One thing is for sure: I was so glad that this did not happen.

I’m excited to test out what else LA Fitness has to offer (like a pool!), especially since I have been pretty slack on my cross-training. While I doubt I wake up for any more 5:45 spin classes, the location is perfect for me to stop by and get in a run or some strength training after work.

Are you a gym rat or do you prefer to stick out the elements and exercise outdoors?

2 thoughts on “Treadmill Test 1, 2.

  1. Great job on the TM and how fun that your gym has a pool! I’m 50/50 when it comes to gyms. I prefer running outside but sometimes I don’t have any alternatives but to run inside. Generally speaking, I’m a treadmill hater. I think it has something to do with how awkward I look (I cannot run in a straight line to save my soul).

    • I feel you there – I am pretty sure I was weaving back and forth the entire time! I’m not sure I’m totally sold yet, but all this rain has thrown me off so much. I wish there was such a thing as a rainy day membership…

Leave a Reply

