Every Day the 14th.

As far as holidays go, I am kind of indifferent to ole Valentine’s Day; I don’t hate it, but it’s not my favorite. For our fourth Valentine’s together, Mitch and I have big plans…to stay in.

IMG_1473

For our very first Valentine’s Day together in 2010, we dressed up and went to a fancy-for-us restaurant where we were promptly seated directly in front of a child who screamed through the entire meal and dessert. Ever since that awful experience, each February 14th we take turns making dinner & dessert at home. I was in charge of dessert this year, so I attempted to make a heart cake using this technique and Queen Martha’s one-bowl chocolate cake recipe.

IMG_1467

Nailed it, ha. Underneath that cream cheese icing lies a very broken cake. Martha, I am not. At least it looks like it will be delicious!

A very sweet coworker of mine made the doggies some Valentine’s treats so they wouldn’t feel left out of all the human gluttony. Drake and Caroline say thanks, Mr. Lynn!

IMG_1469

Mitch is in the kitchen now making some yummy steaks with mashed potatoes and sauteed kale (I had to make a special request for that). We have been holding on to a bottle of this local wine for some time, and I can’t wait to finally open it.

IMG_1475

With all this food & drink ahead of me, I will definitely need to sweat it out tomorrow. After Tuesday’s treadmill run, I was feeling some weird tightness in my right hip, and I had hoped last night’s yoga class would relieve it; alas, it was still lingering this morning. I decided to make today a rest day which means I have 4 miles waiting on me tomorrow and then – gulp – 9 on Sunday. How fitting that this little badge arrived in my inbox today…

gahalf

Leave a Reply

