That’s A Wrap.

After an epic Skype happy hour with my girl Mary, it was late to bed and early to rise. I’m used to 7-8 hours of sleep a night, and I was prepared to wake up hating life, but surprisingly, I woke up feeling energetic – good thing because I had to head into work super early to greet a news crew. Good Day Atlanta’s High 5 Field Trip spent a few hours on campus this morning, and the result was a bunch of fun segments with all the students that you can watch over on their website.

An exciting morning meant I had a lot of nervous energy to burn off after work, so I headed to Kolb’s Farm to attempt 5 miles. I wrapped my troublesome knee, wore my compression tights, and hoped for the best.

IMG_0127

This loop is one of my favorite local runs for a variety reasons, the first being the terrain is much easier on my joints than asphalt (sorry, Silver Comet). The surrounding woods are always so peaceful, and there are enough hills to keep things interesting, including one monster at the very end. It’s rough but I always try to run up it full speed until I reach this guy.

IMG_0131

I’m not sure if the credit goes to the Ace bandage, the morning’s leftover energy, or the softer terrain, but today’s run was one of the best since I first tweaked my knee. When I got home, my first reaction was not to dramatically crawl out of the car and run straight to Advil, an ice pack, and red wine. Instead I stretched it out, took an Epsom salt bath, made some dinner and…okay fine, poured myself a glass of this wine Mitch picked up from Trader Joe’s last week.

IMG_0133

But only because the bottle said bull’s blood!

Leave a Reply

