Product Review: 2013 SweetHeart VoxBox

At the start of the year, I joined Influenster, a program for people who are social media nerds and like sharing their opinions on everything from nail polish to video games. I love trying new products and I love getting mail that isn’t a credit card offer, so the program seemed like a win-win. Imagine my delight when this cute little heart-marked packaged showed up in my mailbox a few weeks ago!

IMG_0157
At first glance, all the products seemed perfect for my busy-but-low-maintenance lifestyle. I like products that simplify my daily routine, whether I’m at work, at the yoga studio, or running so I was curious to see if these would live up to my expectations.
_MG_4117

Olay Fresh Effects Va-Va-Vivid Powered Contour Cleansing System: At the end of the day, is there anything better than washing off hours worth of makeup and grime? Negative, Ghostrider.  While this little guy isn’t on the same level as, say, a Clarisonic, it definitely gave me a little assistance with cleaning my face in harder-to-reach areas, thanks to the scrubby bristles and contoured shape. I also love the shine minimizing cleanser that comes with the system; it foams so nicely and leaves my combination skin feeling clean but not super tight and dry. My only issue with this little tool is it is kind of a pain to clean (how very meta). One night I tried using it with my apricot face scrub (I really like exfoliating, okay) and ended up spending more time cleaning the tool than actually cleaning my face. Again, it’s definitely not on the same level as the Clarisonic, but for $12.99, it’s a steal if you are looking to amp up your face cleansing routine.

_MG_4121

Secret Clinical Strength Stress Response: Whether or not I’m working out, I’m one of those people who sweats easily; it’s a gift, I know. I also tend to stress about anything and everything, so naturally, a deodorant that claims to specifically stop stress-induced sweat was appealing to me. Thanks to an active ingredient of 20% Aluminum Zirconium Trichlorohydrex, this is basically the most intense sweat-killing antiperspirant you can get without a prescription. While I can’t quite say if this antiperspirant worked specifically for stress sweat, it did work for my regular ole sweaty self; the day I first tried it, I had a very busy day at work and a 5:30 spin class but I miraculously didn’t smell like 500 teenagers going through puberty come 9 o’clock that night. Couple that sweat-killing power with the fact that it doesn’t irritate my skin or burn like hell, and I find myself reaching for it every morning.

_MG_4118

Not Your Mother’s She’s a Tease Volumizing Hairspray: I am awful when it comes to selecting hair products, mainly because I don’t have a whole lot of hair and my daily routine involves whatever shampoo is nearest and a quick shot of hairspray.  However, my hair is super short in the back with a long section in the front, so without the right style, I tend to look a little bit like the Beibs. I need a hairspray that has enough hold to keep my hair in line throughout the day but not so much that I look like I’m headed to an 80’s flashback party. Luckily, a quick mist of She’s a Tease delivered soft and flexible hold without any crunchiness. I wasn’t crazy about the scent and I can’t speak to the volumizing aspect, but it kept my hair in place and that’s about all I ask for from my hairspray.

I ate my bar before taking a photo. Whoops.

SkinnyGirl On-the-Go Bars in Dark Chocolate Multi-Grain Pretzel: I like making homemade Larabars (peanuts + dried dates) to snack on throughout the week, so I usually don’t buy granola bars from the store unless they are extra delicious. Unfortunately, I can’t really say that these have changed my mind about my grocery shopping habits either. The first ingredient in these bars is organic brown rice syrup; my teeth are super sensitive to anything sweet, so while overall this bar was delicious, my mouth hated me afterwards. The price point is not really ideal either; a box of 5 bars retails for $12.99, and $2.60 a bar is just way too pricey in my opinion.  As far as ingredients go, the bars each have 7g of protein and 5g of fiber, which is definitely what I look for in a quick snack; however, they also have 2.5g of saturated fat – 13% of your daily recommended value in one bar. Bethenny, girl I love you, but the price, the saturated fat content, and the overt sweetness of these left a bad taste in my mouth (pun definitely intended).

I received these products complimentary from Influenster for testing purposes; I was not compensated for this post.  All opinions – positive and negative  – are my own.  

One thought on “Product Review: 2013 SweetHeart VoxBox

Leave a Reply

