Product Review: ENERGYbits

A few weeks ago, I was contacted on Twitter by the nice folks at ENERGYbits about sampling their product. I’m always game for trying new health products so I was super excited to get this in the mail last week!

IMG_0621

So what are ENERGYbits? Put simply: tabs of spirulina algae. That’s it – just one superfood ingredient (the most nutrient dense food in the world, to be exact). My first question was, could algae really give me more energy than, say, a cup of coffee?

According to their website, ENERGYbits claims to do the following:

  • Increasing Energy
  • Increasing Endurance
  • Increasing Mental Vitality
  • High Protein Snack
  • Curbing Hunger
  • Meal Replacement
  • Balancing Blood Sugar
  • Lowering Blood Pressure
  • Reducing Fatigue

IMG_0625

For best results, the folks at ENERGYbits recommend taking 30 tabs before a workout or anytime you might need a a little boost. I’ll be honest: even those these guys are little, 30 tabs is A LOT to swallow. I don’t even like taking my vitamins, so gulping down handfuls of these guys was a bit of a struggle. Although they have no taste, they smell slightly like fish food, so taking 5-6 handfuls wasn’t particularly pleasant. Next time I might try them in a smoothie like Jenny over at We Shall Have Pie.

After taking my bits, I headed to the gym to squeeze in 20 minutes of strength training before an hourlong spin class. I felt like I was in what my little brother would call “beast mode.”  With 10 minutes to go, the teacher put on “River Deep, Mountain High” and I about busted out my best rollin-on-the-river Tina dance. I think I poured sweat for an entire hour.

IMG_0694

Boom! I definitely had the energy to go HAM in the gym and run multiple unexciting errands afterwards while partaking in some pretty embarrassing car dancing to “Suit & Tie.” Bonus points for zero jitters. Let me show you a few thangs, ENERGYbits!

I like food way too much to use ENERGYbits as a meal replacement, but for a quick, all-natural pick-me-up these guys fit the bill. My only complaints would be the 30-tab serving size and the price: $115 for a one-month supply. Eesh – that’s way harsh, Tai.

Have you ever tried ENERGYbits? What other all-natural pick-me-ups do you enjoy?

Leave a Reply

